Join us this October at Pier Sounds, a concert series at Pier 62 featuring the Black Tones, Earshot Jazz Festival presents D’Vonne Lewis and Friendz, Tiffany Wilson, and Lady A!

Friends guided kayak tour of the Elliott Bay Seawall under the light-penetrating surface.

Image by Rhoades Clark courtesy of DSA.

Who We Are

Waterfront Park is the joint effort of the City of Seattle’s Office of the Waterfront, Friends of Waterfront Seattle, and Seattle Parks & Recreation. Friends of Waterfront Seattle is the City of Seattle’s nonprofit partner helping to build, fund, program, and manage Waterfront Park and ensure its lasting success.

Friends of Waterfront Seattle is dedicated to creating and sustaining a Waterfront Park for all.  image

Friends of Waterfront Seattle is dedicated to creating and sustaining a Waterfront Park for all. 

Following the public-benefit partnership model, Friends of Waterfront Seattle educates the public about the park and its benefits, raises philanthropic funds to build and support operations of the park, and partners with the City to manage and program the park in perpetuity.

Our goal is to realize the public’s vision for a waterfront park where all communities can share cultural, recreational, and civic experiences in a safe, beautiful environment.

Friends is a founding member of the High Line Network, a movement in cities across the world to reclaim underutilized infrastructure and re-imagine it as public space.

Image by Robert Wade

Image by Robert Wade

The vision for Waterfront Park was conceived through a community‑wide effort.

The design of Waterfront Park was created with community input and collaboration at its core. Programming the park is made possible through consistent collaboration with community partners, and we invite you to get involved. Interested in partnering with Friends?

Board

Mary Bass

Wells Fargo

Carol Binder

Community Volunteer

Tom Byers

Cedar River Group

Chris DeVore

Founders’ Co-op

Gene Duvernoy

Forterra

Stephanie Ellis-Smith

Phila Engaged Giving

Leonard Forsman

The Suquamish Tribe

Olive Goh

Citi Private Bank

Paul Goodrich

Madrona Venture Group

Patrick Gordon

ZGF Architects LLP

Nicole Grant

MLK Labor

Leslie Hanauer

Nick and Leslie Hanauer Foundation

Sandra Jackson-Dumont

Lucas Museum of Narrative Art

Falona Joy

SNP Strategies, Inc.

Paul Keller

Mack Real Estate Development

Martha Kongsgaard

Kongsgaard-Goldman Foundation

Dan Kully

Kully Struble

Carla Lewis

Community Volunteer

Kyle McCoy

Goldman Sachs

Lori Metcalf

Seattle Academy

John Nesholm

LMN Architects

Jeannie Nordstrom

Civic Leader and Philanthropist

Stuart Rolfe

Wright Hotels, Inc.

Charley Royer

Former Seattle Mayor

Kayley Runstad Swan

Runstad Foundation

Ryan Smith

Martin Smith, Inc.

Louie Ungaro

The Muckleshoot Tribe

Maggie Walker

The Walker Family Foundation

Brady Piñero Walkinshaw

Grist

Charles Wright

Merrill Gardens, LLC

Leadership

Thatcher Bailey

Interim Executive Director
thatcher@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-886-9448

Vanessa Bankson

Vending & Production Coordinator
vanessa@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817

Tom Beck

Philanthropy Database Coordinator
tom@waterfrontparkseattle.org
(206) 529-5057

Blake Bowers

Finance / P&C Administrator
blake@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-902-8299

Nicole Dansereau

Director of Communications
nicole@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x102

Mack Douglas

Park Operations Coordiantor
mack@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x124

Katheryn Edwards

Executive Assistant
katheryn@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-607-8372

Sarneshea Evans

Community Impact Manager
sarneshea@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x113

Kelli Faryar

Music & Events Lead
kelli@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x127

Esteban Ginocchio Silva

Data Systems Analyst
esteban@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x103

Yoon Kang-O'Higgins

Senior Programs Manager
yoon@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-427-2124

Marie Kidhe

Senior Community Engagement Manager
marie@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-971-2517

Jason Merges

Content Manager
jason@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x125

Anna O'Donnell

Associate Chief Philanthropy Officer
anna@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-854-4843

Anne O'Dowd

Events & Festivals Manager
anne@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x108

Jeff Ozimek

Park Operations & Recreation Manager
jeff@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-245-7227

Jordan Remington

Community Engagement & Programs Coordinator
jordan@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x104

Maria Reyna

Programs Project Manager
maria@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-295-0350

Heather Ryan

Vending & Concessions Lead
heather@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x106

David Rue

Programs Coordinator
david@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x123

Kathleen Shin

Philanthropy & Stewardship Officer
kathleen@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x121

Margie Shurgot

Chief Philanthropy Officer
margie@waterfrontparkseattle.org
510-621-9701

Joey Smith

Campaign Operations Manager
joey@waterfrontparkseattle.org
205-245-4649

Lizanne Wicklund

Senior Philanthropy Officer, Individual Giving
lizanne@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-412-2144

Yiling Wong

Park Marketing Manager
yiling@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x126

Work With Us

Would you like to sell your products and / or services at Waterfront Park?

The Public Safety Manager is a key member of the operations team and works in collaboration with colleagues across the organization as well as with public, private, and nonprofit partners in community efforts around public safety. The Public Safety Manager will oversee the goal of fostering a healthy waterfront neighborhood through partnerships that include City law enforcement, private security, and social service outreach. Responsibilities will grow as the entire 20 acres of new public spaces open in 2024, welcoming more than eight million visitors.

Working closely with the Executive Director, the Deputy Director will oversee all internal operations at Friends, providing strategic oversight, overseeing implementation of all diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) policies and practices, and facilitating communication across the organization to further Friends’ growth, organizational effectiveness, and impact. The position requires a person who is highly collaborative and can function with a high level of autonomy to help lead, manage, and prioritize multiple time-sensitive projects.

The Community Impact Manager supports the work of Friends of Waterfront Seattle by measuring and increasing the impacts and effectiveness of community engagement and outreach initiatives and projects. With a focus on community engagement, the Community Impact Manager will work collaboratively with staff, community-based organizations, community members and leaders, and local business owners to develop and or support programmatic initiatives while establishing evaluation tools that will support the development and execution of effective community engagement strategies, cultivate and maintain successful partnerships with a goal of aligning with the organization’s mission, vision, values, and collective goals.

Resources

Download more information on the design, history, and community partners behind Waterfront Park.

Press & Media

Pier 62 Shows Seattle in Its Best Light

Seattle Met
March 2, 2021

View Press

Seattle’s newest waterfront public space has finally opened

Seattle Urbanized
September 21, 2020

View Press

The Future Of Art Is Collaboration: A Conversation With Takiyah Ward

South Seattle Emerald
August 16, 2020

View Press

Salmon swim past downtown along new ‘highway’ for fish
Seattle Times — June 4, 2019

Friends of Waterfront Seattle Incubates Small Business to Promote Equity March 2019
Puget Sound Business Journal — March 14, 2019

New study: Waterfront park is Seattle’s new weapon to retain tech talent
Puget Sound Business Journal — March 11, 2019

A Bold New Waterfront Is Coming to Seattle Soon
Seattle Magazine — March 1, 2019

Waterfront Park fits how Seattle lives, works
Daily Journal of Commerce — February 28, 2019

Opinion: Shared investments show Seattle at its best
Puget Sound Business Journal — February 20, 2019

Will we really have a ‘Waterfront for All’?
Daily Journal of Commerce — December 5, 2018

For media inquiries, please contact [email protected].

Partners

Friends of Waterfront Seattle deeply values our partnerships with local nonprofits, foundations, government entities, corporations, and organizations that make our work possible.

Are you interested in joining our robust list of partners that program and steward Waterfront Park?

What do you want to see, eat, and do on the waterfront?

Want to plan an event? Have an idea for an activity? We want to hear from you! Waterfront Park is committed to serving the needs of its diverse communities through cultural, educational, and recreational activities in a beautiful, welcoming environment.