Tell us about your experiences at Pier 62! Enter for a chance to win a $50 Visa Gift Card, and help us make the waterfront a more welcoming, safe, and fun place for everyone.

Friends guided kayak tour of the Elliott Bay Seawall under the light-penetrating surface.

Image by Rhoades Clark courtesy of DSA.

Who We Are

Waterfront Park is the joint effort of the City of Seattle’s Office of the Waterfront and Civic Projects, Friends of Waterfront Seattle, and Seattle Parks and Recreation. Friends of Waterfront Seattle is the nonprofit partner to the City of Seattle responsible for helping to fund, build, steward, and program the park — today and into the future.

Dedicated to a renewed place to connect — to the water, to the mountains, to our city, and to one another.

In deep collaboration with individuals, communities, and institutional partners, Friends of Waterfront Seattle’s mission is creating, caring for, and activating a renewed place of connection on Seattle’s central shoreline. In addition to raising $110M by 2025 to fund park construction, Friends will provide funding and manage the programming and operations of the future Waterfront Park through a joint-delivery partnership with the City. Park construction began following the Viaduct’s removal and the first piece of the park — Pier 62 — is now open.

 

Image by Robert Wade

Image by Robert Wade

The vision for Waterfront Park was conceived through a community‑wide effort.

Friends is a founding member of the High Line Network, a movement in cities across the world to reclaim underutilized infrastructure and re-imagine it as public space.

 

The design of Waterfront Park was created with community input and collaboration at its core. Programming the park is made possible through consistent collaboration with community partners, and we invite you to get involved. Interested in partnering with Friends?

Board

Mary Bass

Wells Fargo

Carol Binder

Community Volunteer

Tom Byers

Cedar River Group

Chris DeVore

Founders’ Co-op

Gene Duvernoy

Forterra

Stephanie Ellis-Smith

Phila Engaged Giving

Leonard Forsman

The Suquamish Tribe

Olive Goh

Citi Private Bank

Paul Goodrich

Madrona Venture Group

Patrick Gordon

ZGF Architects LLP

Nicole Grant

MLK Labor

Leslie Hanauer

Nick and Leslie Hanauer Foundation

Sandra Jackson-Dumont

Lucas Museum of Narrative Art

Falona Joy

SNP Strategies, Inc.

Paul Keller

Mack Real Estate Development

Martha Kongsgaard

Kongsgaard-Goldman Foundation

Dan Kully

Kully Struble

Carla Lewis

Community Volunteer

Kyle McCoy

Goldman Sachs

Lori Metcalf

Seattle Academy

John Nesholm

LMN Architects

Jeannie Nordstrom

Civic Leader and Philanthropist

Stuart Rolfe

Wright Hotels, Inc.

Charley Royer

Former Seattle Mayor

Kayley Runstad Swan

Runstad Foundation

Ryan Smith

Martin Smith, Inc.

Louie Ungaro

The Muckleshoot Tribe

Maggie Walker

The Walker Family Foundation

Brady Piñero Walkinshaw

Grist

Charles Wright

Merrill Gardens, LLC

Leadership

Gloria Alvarez Connors

Interim Operations Director
gloria@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-250-7811

Vanessa Bankson

Vending Coordinator
vanessa@waterfrontparkseattle.org

Tom Beck

Philanthropy Database Coordinator
tom@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-529-5057

Blake Bowers

Finance / P&C Administrator
blake@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-902-8299

Brianna Browne

Event Production & Operations Manager
brianna@waterfrontparkseattle.org

Mack Douglas

Park Operations Coordiantor
mack@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x124

Angela Escudero

Office Coordinator
angela@waterfrontparkseattle.org

Kelli Faryar

Music & Events Lead
kelli@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x127

Nam Ho

Event Production & Operations Manager
nam@waterfrontparkseattle.org

Yoon Kang-O'Higgins

Director of Programs
yoon@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x110

Marie Kidhe

Senior Community Engagement Manager
marie@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-971-2517

Jessica Lotz

Outreach and Events Coordinator
jessica@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817

Jason Merges

Content Manager
jason@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x125

Mark Meuter

Event Production & Operations Manager
mark@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x108

Jamala Myres

Event and Facilities Onsite Operations Supervisor
jamala@waterfrontparkseattle.org

Anna O'Donnell

Chief Philanthropy Officer
anna@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-854-4843

Nico Onoda-McGuire

Community Impact Manager
nico@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x122

Jordan Remington

Community Engagement & Programs Coordinator
jremington@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x104

Maria Reyna

Programs Project Manager
mariar@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-295-0350

Heather Ryan

Vending & Concessions Lead
heather@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x106

Britt Rynearson

Assistant Director of Marketing & Communications
britt@waterfrontparkseattle.org

David Rue

Programs Coordinator
david@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x123

Erin Saunderson

Event & Facilities Operations Coordinator
erin@waterfrontparkseattle.org

Joy Shigaki

President & CEO
joy@waterfrontparkseattle.org

Kathleen Shin

Philanthropy & Stewardship Officer
kathleen@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x121

Joey Smith

Campaign Operations Manager
joey@waterfrontparkseattle.org
205-245-4649

Noelle Smithhart

Operations Admin Coordinator
noelle@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-915-4781

Jon Stone

Interim Public Safety Manager
jon@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-890-1611

Eldon Tam

Chief Operating Officer
eldon@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817

Chelsea Wong

Community Outreach Assistant
chelsea@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-926-4029

Yiling Wong

Park Marketing Manager
yiling@waterfrontparkseattle.org
206-866-6817 x126

Work With Us

The Director of Facility Operations ensures that Waterfront Park is the highest and best functioning public space in Seattle. They will work with Friends’ partners to deliver immaculately maintained grounds and facilities, beautifully designed park amenities that meet and anticipate the needs of all users, and a visitor experience that feels inviting, pleasing, and safe—in every sense of that word—to the enormously diverse user groups who need to feel that waterfront park is a home place.

The Event and Facility Onsite Operations Assistant supports the on-site operational functions of the Event and Operations team, ensuring efficiency and consistency in implementing department processes, on-site tasks, and communication. This role also provides logistical support for all internal and external events with a variety of complexity. This position requires continual demonstration of the following core competencies: maintaining a quality guest experience, and collaborating across groups to ensure successful events. This is a high-volume environment where work productivity, efficiency, and effective communication skills are a must. This position will also support ensuring that Friends’ diversity, equity and inclusion values are upheld and advanced in the production of events.

Would you like to sell your products and / or services at Waterfront Park?

Resources

Download more information on the design, history, and community partners behind Waterfront Park. See our sign-up page to join our newsletter and see an archive of past newsletters.

Press & Media

How Seattle’s new waterfront could boost a battered downtown and impact tech companies

GeekWire
April 14, 2022

Learn More

Seattle Waterfront: What’s new and what’s planned for family fun

Seattle's Child
March 31, 2022

Learn More

A day out on the Seattle waterfront with kids

Seattle's Child
March 31, 2022

Learn More

In Waterfront Park, the seeds of a better Seattle
The Seattle Times — March 18, 2022

Amazon pledges $5M to help support ongoing construction of Seattle’s new Waterfront Park
Seattle Pi — December 9, 2021

‘Reflections’ Dance Festival: A Gift of Indigenous and African American Solidarity
South Seattle Emerald — November 3, 2021

Maggie Walker anticipates the construction of Seattle’s Waterfront Park
Puget Sound Business Journal — September 10, 2021

Pier 62 Shows Seattle in Its Best Light
Seattle Met — March 2, 2021

Seattle’s newest waterfront public space has finally opened
Seattle Urbanized — September 21, 2020

The Future Of Art Is Collaboration: A Conversation With Takiyah Ward
South Seattle Emerald — August 16, 2020

Salmon swim past downtown along new ‘highway’ for fish
Seattle Times — June 4, 2019

Friends of Waterfront Seattle Incubates Small Business to Promote Equity March 2019
Puget Sound Business Journal — March 14, 2019

New study: Waterfront park is Seattle’s new weapon to retain tech talent
Puget Sound Business Journal — March 11, 2019

A Bold New Waterfront Is Coming to Seattle Soon
Seattle Magazine — March 1, 2019

Waterfront Park fits how Seattle lives, works
Daily Journal of Commerce — February 28, 2019

Opinion: Shared investments show Seattle at its best
Puget Sound Business Journal — February 20, 2019

Will we really have a ‘Waterfront for All’?
Daily Journal of Commerce — December 5, 2018

For media inquiries, please contact [email protected].

Partners

Friends of Waterfront Seattle deeply values our partnerships with local nonprofits, foundations, government entities, corporations, and organizations that make our work possible.

Are you interested in joining our robust list of partners that program and steward Waterfront Park?

With support from our sponsors:

What do you want to see, eat, and do on the waterfront?

Want to plan an event? Have an idea for an activity? We want to hear from you! Waterfront Park is committed to serving the needs of its diverse communities through cultural, educational, and recreational activities in a beautiful, welcoming environment.